Midi rings

7 Mar

Image

Midi rings, first Knuckle Rings, memory rings or tea rings…Wearing rings higher up on your fingers was actually popular during the Renaissance.

Five hundred years after they signified a wearer’s wealth, mini rings, worn on the foremost joint of the digit—are back on the fingers of trendsetters.

Image

“Wearing one at that time signified a degree of wealth, an indication that “You were of a family that didn’t work in the field or ride horses—you had someone to do all of that for you,” Michael Coan, the chair of FIT’s jewelry design department, explained to The Daily Beast. Just look at Bernhard Strigel’s Portrait of a Woman (above), as proof. The painting, created between 1500 and 1525, features a wealthy woman in a bejeweled collar, also wearing a first knuckle ring”

(http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2013/01/30/first-knuckle-rings-popular-during-the-renaissance-return-to-fashion.html)

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Me with midi rings:

Image

Image

Image

 

 

At Tribe of Mannequins Boutique we stock midi rings:

Image

Image

 

15 Responses to “Midi rings”

  1. Billie March 7, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    I love this rings, love this article

    xxxx loves xxxx

  2. Saroosh March 7, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

    Hey! Do you have other kinds of midi rings? like the chevron style and the ones in the first picture? I believe you do sell in Doha as your posts include MIA bazaar and all. Could you please tell me how much do you sell one or a set for? and as per your recent post the next MIA bazaar will be held in April could you tell me what are their timings so I could visit your Tribe store? Thanks a lot! Keep it up!

    • Tribe of Mannequins Creator March 18, 2013 at 4:38 pm #

      Hi there Saroosh!

      Wow, so lovely to hear from you with such nice feedback.

      I have a smiley-face midi in stock and some spiked rings, but they are a little large to be midi rings.

      You are welcome at the stall! My table number has yet to be confirmed. I will update via the facebook group Tribe of Mannequins.

      Typicall the MIA Bazaar runs 12-7pm. I will be there 12-4pm-ish.

      It is VERY hot out now, so I’ll see how long I can last in the heat.

      Great to hear from you :)

      Please join the facebook group for updates

      http://www.facebook.com/pages/Tribe-of-Mannequins/199696716792980

    • Tribe of Mannequins Creator March 18, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

      The price for the smiley face one is QAR 35.00

    • Tribe of Mannequins Creator March 18, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

      Hi there Saroosh!

      Wow, so lovely to hear from you with such nice feedback.

      I have a smiley-face midi in stock (QAR 35.00) and some spiked rings, but they are a little large to be midi rings.

      You are welcome at the stall! I have lots of pieces. My table number has yet to be confirmed. I will update via the facebook group Tribe of Mannequins.

      Typically the MIA Bazaar runs 12-7pm. I will be there 12-4pm-ish.

      It is VERY hot out now, so I’ll see how long I can last in the heat.

      Great to hear from you :)

      Please join the facebook group for updates

      http://www.facebook.com/pages/Tribe-of-Mannequins/199696716792980

    • Tribe of Mannequins Creator March 20, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

      Hi Saroosh,

      I can confirm that Tribe of Mannequins will be at Table 47 at the Saturday 6th April MIA Park Bazaar, between 12-4pm.

      See you there!

  3. Cherry March 7, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

    I like those spikey ones!

  4. Maylana March 7, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

    I love midi rings, you showed a beatiful collection here. This has inspired me to go out and buy more!

  5. Mammu March 7, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

    Midi rings can be cute but I feel like they make fingers seem a little strange :)

    • Tribe of Mannequins Creator March 18, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

      They are cute, I’ve yet to find strange ones though.
      I guess I have stubby hands as I’m short (5″2 and a half) so they do look nice on slender fingers.

      I think it depends on style etc too. :)

  6. Alice February 8, 2014 at 1:20 am #

    Where do u get them!!??!?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Midi Rings - To Refresh Your Summer Look | fashionsy.com - June 25, 2014

    […] Photo via: tribeofmannequins.wordpress.com […]

  2. Guest post: Smoking & how to quit! | apartment2504 - July 23, 2014

    […] I’ve mentioned her boutique before I’m so in love with her things especially the midi rings which you can see on her hand in this picture. Check out the blog post about it here. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers

